DIY: Cutout Sweaters 👌🏻

You know something is trending when you start to see it everywhere. One such trend I’ve noticed are these sweaters and shirts that have the collar still around the neck, but they’re cut or slashed down the front. 

  I kept seeing them at different stores and…most of the time, they were $15 or more. So, being the scissor happy human being that I am, I decided I could do it myself for way cheaper! (Side note: I’m not that good at sewing, but I love cutting things up! 😂 I make shorts out of pants and tank tops out of old t shirts all the time! 💁🏼)


  So, first thing’s first—get yourself an old sweater or sweatshirt! I found this one at Goodwill for like $3.99. It’s a men’s sweater and runs a little bigger because I wanted it to be baggy and look good with leggings. Literally, the ONLY thing I did to it was cut just under the neck line(It’s better if the sweater has a more pronounced neckline, but not a turtleneck.) and then cut in a “V” shape as far as you want down the front. 

  It is literally the easiest thing I’ve ever done in my life! 😂 Here’s the example I was going off of.


So, what do you guys think?! Unlike some of the Pinterest recipes I have, ahem…tried to make, I think I nailed this one!


Is this a trend you all will be sporting? Also, if you thrift your own sweater and do what I did, I want to see pictures! It’s such a cheap and fun way to get the trends without shelling out the cash! Can I get an amen? 🙋🏼💰

Thoughts, Opinions and Comments

