Battling Feelings of Hopelessness 😔

how to, Life

*sigh*

Some days, I am my biggest cheerleader. I tell myself, “You can do it! You can run a mile! You’ve started a successful business, all on your own! You’ll travel the world, soon!” You can do ANYthing!”

Other days, I am my harshest critic. I suck. I’m not pretty enough, successful enough, unique enough to make a difference at all. I won’t ever realize my dreams of seeing the rest of the world. 🌎

Who else has been there? Surely I’m not the only one. Lately, I’ve found myself doing this annoying thing where I compare myself to other people. 🙄 They go on more vacations, they make six figures, their life is SO TOGETHER. I’m not going to lie, I got reaaallly pissed off yesterday when I heard on the radio that the “Cash Me Outside” Chick is making $100,000+, just for basically being a shitty person. And that’s what makes me depressed. Is our world really THAT messed up that we reward idiots, while other hardworking, NICE people have to scrape to even make it by?

I fell into the pit again today. I go back and forth between telling myself I don’t care and wanting to do something to change it. It’s an annoying side effect of our Share Everything Culture that we instantly feel this compulsion to just compare ourselves to other people. We measure our lives against theirs.

I’ve taken social media hiatuses too, to combat it, but I really don’t know what to do about the standards our world has…they probably won’t change anytime soon.

I’ve been trying to work on being positive, writing some more lately, running some(The adrenaline rush is nice, other times I want to die. 😂) and balancing all the various petsits I’ve got going on.

It’s hard when you feel like you’re just a speck in this…kind of crappy universe. It’s not all crappy. I’m not that depressed…I can pull myself out of it, I just have to remember to focus on myself and not compare. Tomorrow, I’m thinking about exploring some local areas and just…appreciating where I’m at, here and now. If I go on an adventure, I’ll be sure to post about it!

Sorry this post is kind of…blah inducing. I just wanted to throw my thoughts out there. What do you all think about the negative effects of social media? Do you find yourself comparing to other people even when you shouldn’t be?

6 thoughts on “Battling Feelings of Hopelessness 😔

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been going through that! I struggle with comparing myself to other people too, I always have. I’m not sure how much this would help, but something I had to realize for myself to get myself to stop doing that was how much I liked seeing other people being their true, unique selves. I realized that there is something to learn from every person, and if that’s the way I feel about things, then there must be at least a few other people who feel that way too, and who know that and those are the people that should matter to me. The other thing I had to realize was that everyone goes through life differently, so comparison on a large scale is meaningless! I hope things get better. Take care!

    1. Thanks, Aarti! I have gotten better about this in recent months since that post was written—-I think for some of us, it is still always going to be a struggle, but one thing I’ve been doing is trying to focus on my own strengths. I stopped telling myself that other people were better at things and I shouldn’t even try and started telling myself that no one starts out as the best, we all have to practice and continually work to get there. What seems effortless is really years of dedication and work a lot of times!
      Thank you for your kind words and advice! That also helps! I’m glad I’m not the only one that has struggled with comparison!

  2. What a brave post! Of course we all compare ourselves (our gender is particularly good at being critical). And our society is competitive so you’re conditioned to the idea that you need to win – or at least be near the top. But we can’t be good at everything. And everyone is so busy having their own hard time that they often forget to say “thanks for showing up”.
    I have found that is where I have the best success. I feel better when I think of complimenting someone else, or at least recognizing them. I try to apply the Golden Rule. It usually works. (When all else fails, cookies and ice cream can work wonders, and they really make you motivated to exercise the next day too!)
    Thankfully, four-legged friends are our very best cheerleaders. I’m sure all your petsitting wards would sing your praises if they could.

    1. Thank you! 😊
      We are so hard on ourselves as women, it’s annoying, isn’t it? And you’re right—our world is SO competitive—you see it everywhere you turn around!
      And you’re right! I go on my social hiatuses, but then sometimes I stay on just to try and spread at least a little positivity. Something is better than nothing sometimes.
      And haha, yes! I might have had a milkshake today…😂
      I am lucky to watch all the pets I watch! They are all so sweet and just want to cheer you up! I feel stuck some days regarding my dreams to travel…you go on Instagram and see all these glorious pictures of Europe and beaches…and you can’t help but be a little jealous, even if you try not to be. 🙄 I know some people might be getting paid to do it, but others are probably having mom and dad fit the bill!
      I have enjoyed exploring around my own town though! Thanks for commenting! I don’t know if it’s brave really, but I do try to be honest and transparent with people!

Thoughts, Opinions and Comments