Travel Inspiration

Lately, I’ve been looking up travel quotes, finding interesting curios at estate sales from places I want to go, and researching more for this trip to Italy I’ve been planning. ❤


  At an estate sale this past weekend, I found an awesome Rome, Italy guidebook from the 1960’s. It was in a house packed full of figurines, McDonald toys and collectible Star Wars stuff. Lots of kitsch, my favorite!


 My husband Tim and I also found some old, metalcast toy cars, like the blue one in this picture. The Paris Metro map is something I found at an estate sale a while back, but I incorporated it in this picture because it’s a map of a place I’ve never been.

  I think it’s very interesting to see what things people hold onto when you go to estate sales. Some of it, quite honestly, is crap, some of it is expensive art, but the stuff that intrigues me is usually on paper. Maps, souvenirs, postcards and old books. I hope that one day, I’ll have my own memories I’ve collected from around the world. Sometimes, it’s as simple as a ticket stub. It may seem like garbage to someone else, but when you’re the person that houses the memories that go along with the item, it instantly transports you back to where you were, who you were with, what you did…

  So, I’ve got the Rome guidebook and I’ve been flipping through it. I’m about halfway to my goal of saving for a trip to Italy! 🙌🏻 It’s progress and I’m getting there.

  In the meantime, I have enjoyed exploring local places and going to estate sales of people who have gone to so many more places than I have. 

Here are some travel quotes that have been getting me through lately…



Also, this bracelet. It mysteriously showed up on my kitchen table and I have no idea where it came from! 😱 I love what it says though. KEEP ON GOING. No matter what. ✌🏻
Hope you guys are having a great week! 👍🏻 🗺 

5 thoughts on “Travel Inspiration

  1. Great finds! I have saved bits of paper over the years from my travels. but the problem is I’m a horrible scrapbooker. As a result I have shoeboxes and manila envelopes full of old souvenirs. My favourite mementos are my sculptures from Africa – every time I see them in the bookshelves I remember my trip and all the adventures. Keep up the good work saving for your goal! Your persistence is inspiring 🙂

    1. Thank you! 😊
      And haha, I’m a horrible scrapbooker too! The idea of it sounds fun, but it’s a lot of work! 😜 I usually end up dedicating a bookshelf or wall for my cool stuff! And that’s awesome, where all did you go in Africa?!
      And thank you! Some months are easier…and then other months, your car battery dies and that becomes a priority. 😂 On those days, I end up telling myself, “Not today, devil, not today!” Life happens though! I’ve been trying to stay persistent! It’s nice when you see results!

      1. I’ve only been to southern Africa so far (South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana). I’m saving for a trip to Senegal now as I have a friend in Dakar. They say life is what happens while you are making plans. I think you have the right idea 🙂

    1. Thanks! 😊 I got it at an estate sale where, believe it or not, I almost witnessed a fight/shoving match between people. 😂 It was ridiculous! Luckily, I got out unscathed, and with something pretty cool! I love typewriters. ❤

Thoughts, Opinions and Comments

