✨Mid Mod Finds+Petsitting ✨

  I have been AWOL for the last couple of days because I have been swamped with petsitting + I’ve been going to a lot of estate sales.


 Here are just a few of the cute faces I’ve been watching! 🐶

  I love when I’m able to stay really busy with watching dogs and cats that I regularly see and even some new ones! The busy times make the times where I get to go on trips and have some downtime all that more rewarding!

 Anyways, in between some sits I’ve been able to go to some garage sales and estate sales, which is one of my favorite things to do.


 This desk and chair are something I got yesterday. They are solid wood, I’m thinking maple. I am wanting to repaint it and recover the seat. So far, I am thinking either a cream white or a gray color would look good for the paint, what do you all think? 🤔 Also, I have to brag about how much I paid for it. Would you believe I got this desk and chair both for just $5?!?! I can’t eat at Chick-fil-A for that cheap! I was so excited, I had to get it! I’ll have to post some before & afters when I get it repainted.

  

 But I didn’t stop there! I found an excellent estate sale yesterday, one of those that is in a house that is like a time capsule. Old shag carpet. Wallpaper. There were some records that were in pristine condition at that sale; I came close to getting one of Chubby Checker, Johnny Horton and The Mary Poppins soundtrack, but I forked out some money for these beautiful mid mod chairs above. 😍

  These chairs are unbelievable! I couldn’t pass them up. They are fiberglass shell and in awesome condition! One is a pretty blue and the other is a lighter orange. Gosh, I was in love! The legs are metal and don’t flare out like your typical mid mod chairs.


  In fact, the shape of these chairs is unlike any other and I haven’t been able to find any similar ones online, so I am going to go to a private collector sometime soon and get their opinion on them. All I know so far, from the estate sale runner, is that they are from around 1959 and were owned by a psychiatrist who worked at Lakeshore, a creepy and historic mental institution that used to be here in Knoxville, but has since become a park and undergone extensive renovations. They were chairs he had in his waiting room, which might account for the straight build of the legs, in order to fit more in his waiting room.

  I love finding out the history behind the objects I find! ❤️ I will have to let you all know more as I find it out, but I am thinking they might be Chromcraft. I will definitely be selling them on my etsy, which you can check out here: https://www.etsy.com/shop/EdisonsPlace?ref=seller-platform-mcnav

  Some recent things I’ve listed include this rad unicorn figurine, some vintage clothes and some funky alarm clocks!

 I love estate sales so much! This next weekend, I will be going on a trip to Atlanta, maybe I can check out some more while I’m there! 

3 thoughts on “✨Mid Mod Finds+Petsitting ✨

  1. Great chairs! The design reflects Pop culture, work of art produced in the 1960. A reproduction of Andy Warhol cambell’s soup can painting would look fantastic with your setting! Love the vintage type writer too.

    1. Thank you! 😊 I thought they were so neat! And you’re right! I really would like to get some funky, colorful art on my wall! That would look awesome! And thank you! 😄 That typewriter was a good find! I got it for $10 at a sale!

Thoughts, Opinions and Comments

