\\ B u f o r d  H i g h w a y // Atlanta’s Asian Mecca

  I’m baaaaackkkk! 👋🏻

   My cousin Rachel & I went on a short weekend trip to Atlanta. I’ve been to Atlanta several times since it’s relatively close, but this trip was different. The past times I’ve come, it’s been for my husband’s work conference, a thrifting trip my family took us on where we went to all the best Goodwills (SO much fun! ❤️), or a loooong time ago when we came and went to The Coca Cola Factory and to a Braves game. 

  This trip, Rachel and I set out to explore the Asian communities in Atlanta, in particular, the areas on Buford Highway near Duluth where so many restaurants, stores and karaoke bars are prevalent. We have both always loved anything Asian, but especially the culture, traditions and the food. 🍱

  So, here are some of the best things we found on our adventures!

Umma’s House Korean Restaurant
75 5th Street NW, Atlanta, GA, 30308

 Umma’s, a restaurant specializing in Korean & Japanese fare, is located in downtown Atlanta, close to the Georgia Tech campus and center. For that reason, they had great deals on food for cheap. The bento box I got was only $7! 😱 I had leftovers and it was so good. 

  Umma’s also serves authentic Bubble Tea, which is very hard to find in my hometown of Knoxville. Rachel got a Strawberry Smoothie Bubble Tea and I got a Green Tea Iced Latte Bubble Tea. I love matcha. 😻 Definitely check this place out! But find closer parking than we did! 😂 Or you can always use Uber! We did for the first time and actually ended up riding with someone who works for Uber Corporate! Our $5 ride back to the car + talking to him and our driver was worth it!

Han Il Kwan Korean
5458 Buford Highway NE
Atlanta, GA 30340

  Han Il Kwan, a rather ordinary looking Korean Restaurant located next to the Mighty Tidy Carwash on Buford Highway, was anything but!

  Again, I was astonished by the huge portions some of these places had! Maybe also because I didn’t have my husband to help me eat my meals, I always had leftovers! 😂

  I tried Bibimbap for the first time here and it was delicious. Filled with rice, noodles, bean curd, egg, spinach, carrots, tofu, cucumber and more, it was brought to me on a sizzling platter. Rachel got one of their soup specials, which was extra spicy 🌶, and it came with kimchi and more in little dishes to try. My meal was right at or under $10. Just don’t make the faux pas I did and mix your rice in if you get Bibimbap. The owner came over and told me,”You’re supposed to mix in the rice!” 😂

  In my defense, it was too pretty to mess up!

Sweet Hut Bakery & Cafe
5150 Buford Highway NE
Atlanta, GA 30340


 To check out an Asian cafe, head to Sweet Hut Bakery on Buford Highway. It was a little chaotic and busy, but they serve Asian desserts as well as more traditional American ones. We tried Strawberry Milk Tea 🍓 there and Taro, a dessert I had never tried before, but was very good!

K-Pop Store
5953 Buford Highway NE
Doraville, GA, 30340

  Now, for retail, you have to check out one of the few K-Pop stores they have in Atlanta! My cousin Rachel adores anything Korean and K-Pop, so we went to this little store in Doraville and were not disappointed.

  They had everything from posters, cds, booklets, pictures, keychains, stickers, lights, paper dolls, apparel, everything. The next closest thing would be going to any of these K-Pop groups’ concerts, that would be the only other way you would see that much cool merchandise. I got stickers from a group called Red Velvet and we both got some Korean facial masks to try! (The chopsticks are some ivory ones I picked up at an Asian supermarket because I’d really been wanting some. I got 10 pairs for $2!)


 Here is the blueberry facial mask in action. I felt like Iron Man. 😂

 All in all, it was a very fun, cultural trip! It’s the next best thing to actually going to an Asian country, which I am hoping to do someday. (After my trip to Italy! 🇮🇹)

 Atlanta has every kind of Asian culture represented, from Malaysian, Chinese, Taiwanese, Japanese, Indian, Korean to so many more! If you love Asian culture like we do, we would highly reccomend you check out Buford Highway near Doraville and Duluth on the outskirts of Atlanta!


P.S. Also, I’d like to give a shoutout to the VRBO we stayed in near Candler Park and Little Five Points! The owner Scott was amazing and it was so convenient and close to everything. 

2 thoughts on “\\ B u f o r d  H i g h w a y // Atlanta’s Asian Mecca

  1. This post excited me so much because I live about 15 minutes from Buford Highway hahaha! Sweet Hut is EVERYTHING! It’s my bubble tea go-to in ATL, but there doesn’t seem to be any worthwhile boba places around Vanderbilt yet…but if you happen to know of a good one in Nashville, I’m all ears!
    Also, if you ever decide to visit again, I’d recommend Sokongdong Tofu House – they have some great authentic Korean cuisine, and their tofu soup is AMAZING. Also, I never even knew there was a KPOP Store!?! My Kpop-obsessed heart is so excited to check it out lol.

    Glad someone else got to experience the greatness that is Buford Highway! ^_^

    – Emma
    The Couture Chemist || http://www.thecouturechemist.wordpress.com

    1. Haha, oh my gosh, that’s awesome! 😂
      I loved exploring Buford Highway—we passed through one time and this past trip was the first time I really got to soak it all in and enjoy it! And there’s this place called Chill Spot about 8 miles from downtown Nashville in Brentwood that has AWESOME bubble tea!
      And I’ll have to remember your recommendation—Atlanta’s only 3ish hours from Knoxville, so I find myself there a lot! And yes, my cousin loves KPop and found the store! They gave us free stickers and a concert DVD, they were so nice!
      Buford Highway is such a hidden gem, but so great for someone who loves all things Asian! The next best thing until I can go to a town with a China Town or to some real Asian countries! 😻 I’m glad someone else knows what I’m talking about and loves it too!

Thoughts, Opinions and Comments

