✨From Yard Sale to Oh Yeah! ✨

  I’m back from Atlanta and have been so busy! Remember that desk & chair I mentioned in a previous post that I got for only $5?! Well, it is living a new life and I’ve totally made it over! ✨ I love transformations! ❤️ Above is the “before”…


  And here’s the after! 🎉

 In total, I spent under $50 to take this desk and chair set from drab to glam! I painted it with some furniture paint from Lowe’s and went with a very different color called “Dusty Hyacinth”. It’s sort of a grayish-purple or mauve.

 I picked out some new hardware, which my grandfather, Poppy, was nice enough to help me with! He also helped me by building a facing/facade for the bottom left part of the desk since the old one was falling apart.


 My grandmother, Mimi, recovered the seat for me with some fabric I got at Joann’s Craft Store for $4.37. I looked at fabric for a loooong time and finally found what I thought was perfect! I love florals, and I thought it was neat how this pattern pulled in white, gray, purples and yellow, which I adore. 😍

  I am so excited about having a desk of my own, something cute, old yet restored, that I can call my own! I’m planning on using it as a work space for my laptop and also for organizing my petsitting & Etsy businesses. ❤️


  I love it! ✨

 Have any of you all redone some furniture? What’s your favorite piece you’ve ever done?

(And P.S. be on the lookout for my next post,  🔥How to Rock Red as a Redhead🔥, coming sometime this next week! 👉🏻)

9 thoughts on “✨From Yard Sale to Oh Yeah! ✨

  1. I did this last summer with two black bookcases from Ikea and painted them duck egg blue to go with my new study. I was worried that the colour wouldn’t cover the black but after two coats of the chalk based paint I got they’re perfect and I’ve never seen bookcases that colour before or since 🙂 I love having something unique that I made that way myself. I love what you’ve done with the desk! X

    1. That’s awesome! They sound like such a pretty color too! 😍
      Tim has repainted a table from Ikea before! It was black and he made it gold! We love Ikea! ❤️
      And it is fun having something so unique, and something you helped make look so different! Thank you! 😊

      1. I have an old rocker, and “bar” so to speak, it is waist high on rollers, of good wood but pained gray (boo) with a thick glass top, It would make a lovely contribution to a dining room or anywhere.

Thoughts, Opinions and Comments

